Texas is what a lot of foreigners think of when they think of America, the state has the second largest economy in the US, with a GDP similar to the UK and a landmass larger than any country in Europe.
Does their audiology healthcare meet the expectations of such a high performing state? Find out below.
How many test centers are in Texas?
Texas is known for its size, so it would make sense that there are a ton of resources for your hearing healthcare needs. The number of test centers in a state is a good indicator of how much importance they place on hearing health, and in a state like Texas these will be more concentrated in the big cities.
As you can see, Texas is loaded with audiological care. The bigger your city or town, the higher chance of being within reach of a hearing specialist, but you’ll never be too far away from one either way.
Cities with the best hearing healthcare
|City||Population||Audiologists & Hearing Centers||Centers (per 100,000)|
The Capital, Austin, has the best ratio of Audiologists/Hearing Centers with almost 6 per 100,000 of the population, something you'd expect from the capital.
Dallas and Fort Worth however don't perform as well, close geographically to each other with similar number of centers at only 3.5 and 3.6 per 100,000 respectively.
What government support do I have?
Medicaid in Texas covers hearing aids quite extensively. The only thing you’ll need is prior authorization, which won’t be a problem for anyone with legitimate hearing loss.
But what if you don’t fall under the qualifications for Medicaid? You might still be in luck. Thanks to the Affordable Care Act, you may be entitled to hearing aids covered up to $1000 every 3 years.
Is there a hearing aid trial period?
In Texas, providers must allow a thirty-day trial period in order for the user to determine if they're satisfied with their hearing aid under the Medicaid Program. This trial consists of thirty consecutive days from the day your hearing aid is issued. Your provider should inform you of the date that the trial period ends.
If you're unhappy with your hearing aid during this trial period you can go back to your provider and, where medically necessary, get issued another hearing aid. At this point, the trial period will refresh and the thirty day period will start again.
Fees for returning hearing aids
If you do return your hearing aid during the trial period you may be charged a fee. Under Medicaid this is up to a maximum of $2 per day. This rental fee is not covered by the Texas Medicaid Program and therefore you will be responsible for payment.
What support do my children have?
Also under the ACA, an infant hearing screening is covered as a state required benefit under Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 2, Subtitle B, Ch. 47.
There is also some Medicaid coverage offered for children of families with a lower income from birth up to 18 years old.
Screening requirements for children in Texas
|Who must be screened||When screening must be done|
|- 4-years-old by September 1|
- Any other first-time entrants
(4 years* through 12th grade)
|Within 120 days of admission |
|1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th graders||Anytime within the school year|
(preferably within first semester)
Child hearing support options:
- Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP): Families can qualify if they earn up to 200% of the poverty level, but they must re-apply every 6 months.
- Medicaid: Children from birth up to to 21 years old who are on Medicaid.
- Miracle Ear Children's Foundation: For children 16 and under. To qualify, a family of 4 must have a gross income between $20,000-45,000, they must be a U.S. citizen, and have a current audiogram and medical release.
- Public schools: As part of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), schools may be responsible for services.
What doctoral programs are available in Texas?
If you're looking for somewhere in Texas to study the workings of the ear, there are a record five universities with listed audiology courses. These are:
- Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
- University of North Texas
- Lamar University
- University of Texas at Austin
- University of Texas at Dallas
Support for military veterans
Hearing healthcare support for veterans is nationwide, with 170 centers nationwide and 8 in Texas you’ll be able to find coverage.
Our guide on VA hearing aids goes into more detail about the support you have available.
How can I get my hearing tested?
A hearing test is the first step towards better hearing health and you can get tested for free in your local area by filling in this form. You'll see a qualified hearing consultant who will run a series of tests to determine if you have any hearing loss, and if you do, show you the best options moving forward.
Read our guide on what to expect from a hearing test find out more about details, know what to bring with you and how long a hearing test might take.
Texas has great coverage for hearing loss for both children and adults. Children under 18 are covered for 1 hearing aid every 3 years with a health benefit plan providing coverage for the cost of hearing aids and related services and supplies.
With over 884 test centers or audiologists in the state, wherever you're based there'll be someone close by who can help you take the next step in improving your hearing.
About our links
Clear Living is reader-supported. By getting in touch with Clear Living you can be matched with a hearing specialist local to you, and arrange a free hearing test and consultation. We may receive a payment for the introduction. This is to help Clear Living remain free to provide advice and reviews, carries no additional cost to you, and doesn’t affect our editorial independence.